What Training ASC Staff Are Actually Required to Complete
Sorted by where the requirement really comes from, with the frequency each source actually states. Several items on the standard annual checklist are not annual, and two real obligations are missing from most of them.
There is no annual mandatory education list in the Medicare Conditions for Coverage. Part 416 contains no general competency requirement, no required in-service hours and no annual topic list. Every item on a typical ASC annual training matrix comes from somewhere else — OSHA, the fire codes incorporated by reference, HIPAA, an accreditor, state law, or a national guideline the center adopted itself.
That matters in both directions. Several things centers train on annually are not required annually by any federal source. And at least two genuine recurring obligations are missing from most matrices entirely.
Verified against the eCFR, OSHA standards and CMS materials on 19 August 2026. Sources listed at the foot of the page.
What is not actually annual
Each of these is commonly presented as an annual federal requirement. None of them is.
| Commonly asserted | What the source actually says |
|---|---|
| Emergency preparedness training is annual | Not since 29 November 2019. 42 CFR 416.54(d)(1)(ii): “Provide emergency preparedness training at least every 2 years.” The plan, the policies and procedures and the communication plan are also reviewed every two years. What stayed annual is the testing exercise — training and testing were decoupled. |
| HIPAA privacy training is annual | No annual interval appears in 45 CFR 164.530(b). Training is owed to each new workforce member within a reasonable time after joining, and to affected members after a material change in policies or procedures. |
| HIPAA security training is annual | 45 CFR 164.308(a)(5) requires a security awareness and training program. The only temporal word in the standard is “periodic,” and the periodic-security-updates specification is addressable, not required. |
| Hazard communication training is annual | 29 CFR 1910.1200(h)(1) requires training at initial assignment and whenever a new chemical hazard is introduced into the work area. There is no retraining interval. |
| PPE training is annual | 29 CFR 1910.132(f) requires training before the employee performs work requiring PPE, then retraining only on three triggers: a workplace change, a PPE change, or evidence the employee has not retained the knowledge. |
| Emergency action plan training is annual | 29 CFR 1910.38(f) requires review with each employee when the plan is developed or the employee is assigned, when their responsibilities change, and when the plan changes. |
| Annual TB testing of staff | CDC stopped recommending it in 2019. Routine serial testing at any interval after baseline is not recommended absent a known exposure or ongoing transmission. Annual TB education is still recommended. |
| Annual compliance training is required | The HHS Office of Inspector General’s General Compliance Program Guidance is expressly voluntary, non-binding guidance. It recommends training at least annually. No federal statute or regulation requires a Medicare-certified ASC to operate a compliance program at all. Medicaid provider agreements and managed care contracts often do. |
Why this is worth acting on rather than filing away. Training you are not required to do still costs staff hours, and a matrix that cites a federal source that does not say what you claim it says is a credibility problem in front of a surveyor. If you want to keep annual HIPAA training — and it is a reasonable choice, since it makes the material-change obligation easier to satisfy — present it as center policy, not as a federal mandate.
Real obligations that get missed
These are genuine recurring requirements. They rarely appear on an ASC annual education matrix, in our experience because they do not live in 42 CFR Part 416 — they arrive through OSHA and through the fire codes the Conditions for Coverage incorporate by reference.
Five that belong on the matrix
- Fire drills, quarterly on each shift. Life Safety Code tag K-712, NFPA 101 (2012). Not annually. Quarterly, per shift.
- Operating room fire prevention. Tag K-933, NFPA 99 (2012) section 15.13: training for new OR personnel including surgeons, continuing education, incidents reviewed monthly, and procedures reviewed annually.
- Portable fire extinguisher education, annual. 29 CFR 1910.157(g)(2) — on initial employment and at least annually thereafter, wherever extinguishers are provided for employee use.
- Employee notification of exposure and medical records rights, annual. 29 CFR 1910.1020(g)(1). This is a notification, not a course. An annual signed acknowledgment satisfies it.
- The annual sharps device evaluation. 29 CFR 1910.1030(c)(1)(iv)(B) requires you to document annually that you considered and implemented safer medical devices, and (c)(1)(v) requires documented input from non-managerial staff who actually use sharps. This is paperwork, not training, and centers that train faithfully every year still fail it.
On the extinguisher point, the exemption most people reach for does not help an ASC. 29 CFR 1910.157(b)(1) exempts an employer only where extinguishers are not available in the workplace. A Medicare-certified ASC must meet NFPA 101, and Life Safety Code tag K-355 requires portable extinguishers per NFPA 10. They are available, so the exemption is off the table.
From the Conditions for Coverage
Searching the entire ASC condition set for training, competency, qualification, education and orientation language turns up remarkably little. Here is all of it.
Emergency preparedness: two different clocks
- Training — 416.54(d)(1). Initial training for all new and existing staff, individuals providing on-site services under arrangement, and volunteers, consistent with their expected roles. Then at least every two years. Documentation maintained, and staff must be able to demonstrate knowledge of emergency procedures. If the plan is significantly updated, updated training is required immediately, independent of the two-year clock.
- Testing — 416.54(d)(2). Exercises to test the plan at least annually: a full-scale community-based exercise every two years, or an individual facility-based functional exercise if a community exercise is not accessible, and in the alternate year a second exercise of your choosing — another full-scale or functional exercise, a mock disaster drill, or a facilitated tabletop exercise or workshop. A center that activates its plan for an actual emergency is exempt from its next required full-scale or functional exercise.
Competence and availability, with no stated frequency
Three requirements are written as availability or competence standards rather than as training intervals, and the distinction changes what evidence proves compliance:
- 416.44(e) — “Personnel trained in the use of emergency equipment and in cardiopulmonary resuscitation must be available whenever there is a patient in the ASC.” No renewal interval, no named course, no requirement that every employee hold a card. The familiar two-year BLS renewal is the certifying body’s rule, not CMS’s. The compliance evidence is a staffing pattern showing qualified coverage at every patient-present hour.
- 416.46(a) — a registered nurse available for emergency treatment whenever a patient is in the center. Again a staffing standard.
- 416.51(b)(1) — the infection control program must be under the direction of a designated and qualified professional who has training in infection control. This is a qualification for one person, not a recurring course for everyone.
Where annual infection control training actually comes from
Part 416 states no frequency for staff infection control training. The annual expectation enters through 416.51(b), which requires documentation that the center has considered, selected and implemented nationally recognized infection control guidelines. CDC’s Guide to Infection Prevention for Outpatient Settings says training “should be provided upon orientation to the facility and, to maintain competency, should be repeated annually and anytime policies or procedures are updated,” with competencies documented after each session. CDC’s Core Infection Prevention and Control Practices says the same.
Once your center documents that it selected CDC guidance — which is what virtually every ASC does — annual infection control training becomes enforceable as your own adopted standard, surveyed under 416.51. It is a real obligation. It simply does not originate where most matrices say it does.
From OSHA
Bloodborne pathogens: the one true federal annual clinical training
29 CFR 1910.1030(g)(2) requires training at initial assignment to tasks with occupational exposure and at least annually thereafter. Two details are where centers actually get cited:
- 1910.1030(g)(2)(iv): “Annual training for all employees shall be provided within one year of their previous training.” That is a rolling 12-month clock per employee, not a calendar-year obligation. A center that runs training every January and hires in March has a problem by the following spring.
- 1910.1030(g)(2)(viii) and (ix): the session must give an opportunity for interactive questions and answers with the person conducting it, and that person must be knowledgeable in the subject matter. A video module with no live or asynchronous route to a knowledgeable human is a citable defect on its face.
Training records — dates, contents, trainer name and qualifications, and attendee names and job titles — are retained three years.
Respiratory protection: annual, but only if it applies
29 CFR 1910.134 requires a medical evaluation before fit testing or required use, fit testing before initial use and at least annually thereafter, and training before use and annually. All of this attaches only to staff required to wear a respirator. If your center’s written policy is that it does not accept patients requiring airborne precautions and N95 use is voluntary filtering-facepiece only, the annual fit-test obligation does not attach — you owe voluntary users the Appendix D information instead. That policy has to be real and written down, not assumed.
Substance-specific standards, only where they apply
- Formaldehyde, 1910.1048 — annual training, but 1910.1048(n)(1) exempts the employer entirely where objective data show employees are not exposed at or above 0.1 ppm. For a center using pre-filled sealed formalin containers that exemption is usually the right answer, and it needs to be documented rather than assumed.
- Ethylene oxide, 1910.1047 — annual training for employees potentially exposed at or above the action level. Relevant only to centers still operating an EtO sterilizer. If you have none, say so in writing and drop the topic rather than carrying a phantom module.
- Glutaraldehyde and OPA have no substance-specific OSHA standard. They are covered by hazard communication, which is not annual.
Recordkeeping: most freestanding centers are partially exempt
Freestanding ASCs sit in NAICS 6214, Outpatient Care Centers, which appears on OSHA’s partially exempt list at Appendix A to Subpart B of Part 1904. A partially exempt employer does not have to keep the OSHA 300 log unless the government asks. Because 1910.1030(h)(5)(i) ties the sharps injury log to employers required to keep a Part 1904 log, that obligation generally falls away too.
Three qualifications. Severe injury reporting under 1904.39 always applies — a work-related fatality within 8 hours, and an in-patient hospitalization, amputation or loss of an eye within 24 hours. State-plan states may impose stricter recordkeeping. And keeping a sharps log anyway is good practice and may be required by your accreditor or your own exposure control plan — just do not describe it to staff as a federal mandate if it is not.
From HIPAA and other federal law
HIPAA privacy, 45 CFR 164.530(b): train all workforce members on the policies and procedures as necessary and appropriate for their functions; each new member within a reasonable time after joining; and each member whose functions are affected by a material change, within a reasonable time after that change takes effect. Document that training occurred and retain the documentation six years. No annual interval.
HIPAA security, 45 CFR 164.308(a)(5): implement a security awareness and training program for all workforce members including management. The program is required; the four specifications beneath it — security reminders, protection from malicious software, log-in monitoring and password management — are addressable. Watch this one: HHS published a proposed rule in January 2025 that would substantially tighten the Security Rule and remove the required-versus-addressable distinction. Confirm its status before relying on the current reading.
The MATE Act 8-hour training is frequently misplaced onto ASC staff matrices. It attaches to the individual DEA-registered practitioner, not to the center’s registration and not to nurses, techs or business office staff. It is satisfied once, by checking an attestation box at the practitioner’s next DEA registration submission on or after 27 June 2023, and DEA states it is not part of future renewals. There are exemptions for addiction medicine board certification and for recent qualifying graduates. What a center can reasonably do is verify the attestation during credentialing.
The consolidated table
Annual means the source states a 12-month interval. Event means the obligation is triggered by hire, task change or policy change only. None stated means the source imposes a competence, availability or awareness duty with no interval attached.
| Topic | Source | Frequency | Applies to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bloodborne pathogens training | 29 CFR 1910.1030(g)(2) | Annual, within one year of previous training | Every employee with occupational exposure |
| Exposure control plan review | 29 CFR 1910.1030(c)(1)(iv) | Annual | Facility document |
| Safer sharps device evaluation and non-managerial input | 29 CFR 1910.1030(c)(1)(iv)(B), (c)(1)(v) | Annual, documented | Facility document |
| Hepatitis B vaccine offer | 29 CFR 1910.1030(f)(2)(i) | Within 10 working days of initial assignment | Employees with occupational exposure |
| Fire extinguisher education | 29 CFR 1910.157(g)(2) | Annual | All employees where extinguishers are provided |
| Exposure and medical records rights notification | 29 CFR 1910.1020(g)(1) | Annual | All covered employees |
| Respirator fit test and training | 29 CFR 1910.134(f)(2), (k)(5) | Annual | Only staff required to wear respirators |
| Formaldehyde training | 29 CFR 1910.1048(n) | Annual if exposed at or above 0.1 ppm | Exempt with objective data below the threshold |
| Ethylene oxide training | 29 CFR 1910.1047(j)(3)(i) | Annual if at or above the action level | Only centers operating an EtO sterilizer |
| Fire drills | LSC tag K-712, NFPA 101 (2012) | Quarterly on each shift | All staff on each shift |
| OR fire prevention | Tag K-933, NFPA 99 (2012) 15.13 | New OR personnel and surgeons; continuing education; incidents reviewed monthly; procedures reviewed annually | OR personnel and surgeons |
| Emergency preparedness testing | 42 CFR 416.54(d)(2) | Annual, alternating exercise types | Facility |
| Emergency preparedness training | 42 CFR 416.54(d)(1) | Initial, then every 2 years | Staff, on-site contracted individuals, volunteers |
| EP plan, policies and communication plan review | 42 CFR 416.54(a)-(c) | Every 2 years | Facility |
| Infection control training | Not in Part 416; enters via 416.51(b) plus adopted CDC guidance | Orientation, then annually per CDC, plus on policy change | All personnel including contracted staff and volunteers, by category |
| Emergency equipment and CPR competence | 42 CFR 416.44(e) | None stated — availability standard | Enough personnel to cover all patient-present hours |
| Hazard communication | 29 CFR 1910.1200(h)(1) | Event — hire and new chemical hazard | Employees working with hazardous chemicals |
| PPE training and hazard assessment | 29 CFR 1910.132(d), (f) | Event; written certification of both required | Each affected employee |
| Emergency action plan review | 29 CFR 1910.38(f) | Event | Each covered employee |
| HIPAA privacy training | 45 CFR 164.530(b) | Event — new hire and material change | All workforce members |
| HIPAA security awareness program | 45 CFR 164.308(a)(5) | Program required; no frequency stated | All workforce including management |
| MATE Act 8-hour training | DEA | One time, at the next registration submission | Individual DEA-registered practitioners, not center staff |
| Compliance program training | HHS-OIG General Compliance Program Guidance | Voluntary; OIG recommends at least annually | Board, officers, employees, contractors, medical staff |
Two categories this table deliberately does not cover. Accreditor standards add training beyond the federal floor and are contractual rather than regulatory — pull your own accreditor’s current personnel chapter and build from it verbatim. And state law adds its own, commonly in six recurring areas: mandated reporter training, human trafficking recognition, sexual harassment prevention, infection control continuing education tied to individual licensure, fire and life safety under the state facility code, and workplace violence prevention. New York, for example, requires infection control and barrier precautions coursework every four years as a licensure obligation of the individual — which does not substitute for the center’s own in-service, and is not substituted by it.
Common questions
What annual training does CMS require for ASC staff?
None, directly. The Medicare Conditions for Coverage at 42 CFR Part 416 contain no annual mandatory education list, no general competency requirement and no required in-service hours. The only training frequency stated anywhere in Part 416 is emergency preparedness training, which is required at least every two years, and emergency preparedness testing exercises, which are required at least annually. Everything else on a typical ASC annual training matrix comes from OSHA, from the fire codes incorporated by reference into 416.44, from HIPAA, from an accreditor, from state law, or from a national guideline the center adopted under 416.51(b).
Is emergency preparedness training annual for an ASC?
No. It was annual until 29 November 2019, when the CMS Omnibus Burden Reduction rule changed 42 CFR 416.54(d)(1)(ii) to require emergency preparedness training at least every two years. The emergency plan, the policies and procedures and the communication plan are also reviewed every two years rather than annually. What remained annual is the testing requirement at 416.54(d)(2) — exercises must be conducted at least annually, alternating between a full-scale or functional exercise and a second exercise of the center’s choosing. Training and testing are now on two different clocks.
Is annual HIPAA training required?
Not by the regulation. 45 CFR 164.530(b) requires training for each new workforce member within a reasonable period after joining, and for members whose functions are affected by a material change in policies or procedures. The Security Rule at 45 CFR 164.308(a)(5) requires a security awareness and training program but states no frequency; its only temporal word is “periodic.” Annual HIPAA training is a defensible policy choice and makes the material-change obligation easier to meet, but it should be presented as center policy rather than as a federal requirement. Note that HHS proposed substantial Security Rule changes in January 2025 that would alter this, so confirm the current status.
How often are ASC fire drills required?
Quarterly on each shift. This comes from Life Safety Code tag K-712 and NFPA 101 (2012), which the Conditions for Coverage incorporate by reference at 42 CFR 416.44(b). Drills must include transmission of a fire alarm signal and simulation of emergency fire conditions, and must be held at both expected and unexpected times under varying conditions. This is one of the most under-documented ASC obligations because it does not appear in the text of Part 416 itself.
Does an ASC have to keep an OSHA 300 log?
Usually not. Freestanding ambulatory surgery centers fall under NAICS 6214, Outpatient Care Centers, which appears on OSHA’s partially exempt industry list at Appendix A to Subpart B of Part 1904, so the OSHA 300 log is not required unless the government asks for it. Employers with 10 or fewer employees at all times in the previous year are also partially exempt. Two things still apply regardless: severe injury reporting under 1904.39 — a fatality within 8 hours, and an in-patient hospitalization, amputation or loss of an eye within 24 hours — and any stricter requirement imposed by a state OSHA plan. Because the sharps injury log requirement is tied to being required to keep a Part 1904 log, it generally falls away with it, though accreditor standards or the center’s own exposure control plan may still call for one.
Is BLS or ACLS certification required for ASC staff by CMS?
42 CFR 416.44(e) requires that personnel trained in the use of emergency equipment and in cardiopulmonary resuscitation be available whenever there is a patient in the center. It does not name BLS, ACLS or PALS, does not specify a certifying body, does not state a renewal interval, and does not require that every employee hold a certification. The familiar two-year renewal cycle is the certifying body’s rule. Because the standard is written as availability rather than as individual certification, the evidence that proves compliance is a staffing pattern showing qualified coverage at every hour a patient is present, not simply a folder of cards. Accreditor standards and state law frequently impose more specific requirements.
Annual education, already built and already sourced
Building a defensible education matrix from scratch means reading OSHA standards, the incorporated fire codes, your accreditor’s manual and your state’s rules, then keeping all four current. ASC Central members get annual mandatory education content, live conferences and the regulatory updates that keep it accurate.
Related
- The ASC Conditions for Coverage, explainedAll 14 conditions, and the two requirements deleted in 2019.
- ASC infection control requirementsWhere the annual infection control training obligation really comes from.
- How an ASC Medicare survey actually worksIncluding what training documentation a surveyor asks to see.
- What an ASC governing body is responsible forIncluding the board’s duty to resource the QAPI program.
Primary sources
- 42 CFR 416.54, emergency preparedness — eCFR
- 42 CFR 416.44, environment, including the incorporated Life Safety Code and Health Care Facilities Code — eCFR
- 29 CFR 1910.1030, bloodborne pathogens — OSHA
- 29 CFR 1910.157, portable fire extinguishers — OSHA
- 29 CFR 1910.1020, access to employee exposure and medical records — OSHA
- 29 CFR 1910.134, respiratory protection — OSHA
- Appendix A to Subpart B of Part 1904, partially exempt industries — OSHA
- 45 CFR 164.530(b), HIPAA privacy training — eCFR
- CMS Form 2786U, Life Safety Code survey report for ambulatory health care — CMS
- CDC Guide to Infection Prevention for Outpatient Settings — CDC
- HHS-OIG General Compliance Program Guidance, November 2023 — HHS OIG
This page summarizes federal requirements for educational purposes and is current as of the verification date shown above. It is not legal advice. Accreditation standards, state licensure rules and state OSHA plans frequently require more than the federal floor described here, and roughly half the states operate their own OSHA plans. Confirm any requirement against the primary source and against your own state and accreditor before changing a training program.
